About the Edmonton Urban Design Awards

The Edmonton Urban Design Awards were established in 2005 and are held every two years to recognize individuals, organizations, firms and projects that have contributed to urban design excellence in Edmonton. 

Submissions are accepted in the categories of:

  • Urban Design Plans
  • Community Projects
  • Urban Architecture
  • Student Projects
  • Civic Design
  • Urban Fragments

 In 2023, new categories for sustainable urbanism and housing innovation were introduced, to reflect the increased immediacy of these issues within the broader city-building conversation in Edmonton. 

The 2023 award winners were announced at a gala ceremony held in Edmonton’s City Hall on November 24, 2023.  View the  2023 Awards Booklet. (21.85 MB)


Next year we will celebrate 20 years of the Edmonton Urban Design Awards. We’ll share more information on the 2025 Edmonton Design Awards later this year.