

MINUTES

Tuesday, September 29, 2020

PRESENT:

Lefebvre McDonald

Bailey

Ayling

Miller

Wiehe

Ms. Alyssa Lefebvre, Chair Ms. Erin McDonald, Vice-Chair Ms. Stephanie Bailey, Edmonton Historical Board Ms. Debra Ayling Ms. Ailwin Boulet Ms. Marla Miller Ms. Maryanne Wiebe

ALSO IN ATTENDANCE: Mr. Cory Sousa, Administration

MEMBERS:

CALL TO ORDER: 4:26 p.m.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Motion: Miller

That the September 29, 2020 Naming Committee Agenda be adopted.

For the Motion: Bailey, Lefebvre, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe

Carried unanimously

ADOPTION OF MINUTES

Motion: Miller

That the August 27, 2020 Naming Committee Minutes be adopted.

For the Motion: Bailey, Lefebvre, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe

Carried unanimously



OLD BUSINESS

NEW BUSINESS

OTHER BUSINESS

1. Discussion about the new Municipal Wards based on Indigenous place names.			
Motion:	Lefebvre		
That the Naming Committee receives the item as information.			
For the Motion:	Bailey, Lefebvre, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe	Carried unanimously	
2. Naming Policy C509B Amendment to City Council			
Motion:	Lefebvre		
That the Naming Committee receives the report update as information.			
For the Motion:	Bailey, Lefebvre, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe	Carried unanimously	
3. Discussion about Statues and Monuments			
Motion:	McDonald		
That the Naming Committee receives the item as information.			
For the Motion:	Bailey, Lefebvre, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe	Carried unanimously	



4. Discussion regarding the Decoteau ASP

Motion: Bailey

That the Naming Committee approves the Neighbourhood Structure Plan (NSP) names for the Decoteau Area Structure Plan (ASP) as follows:

Decoteau ASP				
NSP	Theme	Approved Name		
North	Animals	ALCES (latin for 'Moose')		
Northwest	Wetlands	MELTWATER		
Central	People	DECOTEAU		
Southwest	Plants	SNOWBERRY		
Southeast	Physical Geography	KETTLE LAKES		

For the Motion: Bailey, Lefebvre, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe

Carried unanimously

Debra Ayling joined the meeting

NEXT MEETING AND ADJOURNMENT

Next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, October 27, 2020

Adjournment: 6:36 p.m.