

MINUTES

Tuesday, August 27, 2020

PRESENT:

All

MEMBERS: Ms. Alyssa Lefebvre, Chair Ms. Erin McDonald, Vice-Chair Ms. Stephanie Bailey, Edmonton Historical Board Ms. Debra Ayling Ms. Ailwin Boulet Ms. Marla Miller Ms. Maryanne Wiebe

ALSO IN ATTENDANCE:

Mr. Cory Sousa, Administration

CALL TO ORDER: 4:42 p.m.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Motion: Boulet

That the August 27, 2020 Naming Committee Agenda be adopted.

For the Motion:Ayling, Bailey, Boulet, Lefebvre, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe

Carried unanimously

ADOPTION OF MINUTES

Motion: Miller

That the July 7, 2020 Naming Committee Minutes be adopted as amended.

For the Motion: Ayling, Bailey, Boulet, Lefebvre, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe Carried unanimously



OLD BUSINESS

1. Request to name the proposed new Municipal Wards based on Indigenous place names. (6:30pm Ceremony by iyiniw iskwewak wihtwâwin Elders as they gift the 12 Ward names to the Naming Committee)

Motion: Lefebvre

That the Naming Committee receives the 12 gifted Indigenous Ward names from iyiniw iskwewak wihtwâwin (Naming Committee's sub-committee) to be recommended to City Council for the proposed Ward Bylaw 19366.

 For the Motion:
 Ayling, Bailey, Boulet, Lefebvre, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe

 Carried unanimously

2. Request to name a portion of the Whitemud Creek Ravine within the Blue Quill Estates Neighbourhood.

Motion: Miller

That the Naming Committee approves the naming of the green space within the Whitemud Ravine adjacent to the Blue Quill Estates Neighbourhood as **Jiti and Gurcharan Bhatia Park**.

The green space is located west of 125 Street NW between 28 Avenue NW and 28a Avenue NW within Whitemud Ravine, adjacent to the Blue Quill Estates Neighbourhood, and is legally described as Lot 30R, Block 28, Plan 7720069, Lot 31R, Block 28, Plan 7720069 and a Portion of Lot 2, Block 28, Plan 7720069.

 For the Motion:
 Ayling, Bailey, Boulet, Lefebvre, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe

 Carried unanimously

OTHER BUSINESS

3. Naming Policy C509B Amendment to City Council

Motion: Lefebvre



That the Naming Committee tables the item for further discussion.

For the Motion: Ayling, Bailey, Boulet, Lefebvre, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe Carried unanimously

4. Discussion regarding the Decoteau ASP

Motion: Lefebvre

That the Naming Committee tables the item until next meeting for further discussion.

 For the Motion:
 Ayling, Bailey, Boulet, Lefebvre, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe

 Carried unanimously

NEXT MEETING AND ADJOURNMENT

Next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, September 29, 2020.

Adjournment: 5:12 p.m. (Naming Committee meeting portion) 8:43 p.m. (iyiniw iskwewak wihtwâwin portion)