

### **MINUTES**

Tuesday, May 28, 2024

MEMBERS: PRESENT:

Mr. Matthew Dance, Chair

Ms. Sara Sierko, Vice-Chair All

Ms. Debra Ayling

Ms. Soni Dasmohapatra

Ms. Erin McDonald

Mr. Harrison Sheremeta

Mr. Shariq Wani

## **ALSO IN ATTENDANCE:**

Mr. Cory Sousa, Administration Ms. Ashley Rowan, Administration

CALL TO ORDER: 4:18 p.m.

### ADOPTION OF AGENDA

**Motion:** Wiebe

That the May 28, 2024 Naming Committee Agenda be adopted.

For the Motion: Ayling, Dance, Dasmohapatra, McDonald, Sheremeta, Sierko, Wani

Carried unanimously

### ADOPTION OF MINUTES

**Motion:** Sierko

That the April 23, 2024 Naming Committee Minutes be adopted.

For the Motion: Ayling, Dance, Dasmohapatra, McDonald, Sheremeta, Sierko, Wani

Carried unanimously



#### **UNFINISHED BUSINESS**

# 1. Request to adjust the name of a park located within the River Valley

**Motion:** McDonald

The Naming Committee can not support the renaming application from the Edmonton Police Association requesting to modify the Constable Ezio Faraone Park name to "Constable Ezio Faraone Edmonton Police Memorial Park". This naming application does not meet the naming requirements outlined in Council Policy C509C Naming Municipal Assets. Specifically, Section 2 Guiding Principles, specifies the primary function of naming municipal assets as being to recognize and commemorate Municipal Partnerships, Local Indigenous histories, Edmonton's diverse communities, and flora, fauna and natural features of the community.

The Naming Committee does not name public assets after institutions such as the Edmonton Police Service. Rather, the committee serves to recognize and commemorate individuals and communities.

For the Motion: Ayling, Dance, Dasmohapatra, McDonald, Sheremeta, Sierko, Wani

Carried unanimously

**Motion:** McDonald

The Naming Committee affirms the importance of recognizing officers who have lost their lives while protecting the community. Any naming or renaming recommendations should focus on the members lost rather than memorializing an institution. Based on the renaming request, the Naming Committee recommends alternate names for Constable Ezio Faraone Park to honour all officers who have lost their lives protecting our communities.

Such suggestions could include: Ezio Faraone Fallen Constables Memorial Park Ezio Faraone Fallen Members Memorial Park Ezio Faraone Fallen Officers Park

For the Motion: Ayling, Dance, Dasmohapatra, McDonald, Sheremeta, Sierko, Wani

Carried unanimously



**Motion:** Dance

The Naming Committee encourages the Edmonton Police Association to do further and deeper consultation with diverse and impacted communities to develop another renaming proposal in accordance with Council Policy C509C Naming Municipal Assets.

For the Motion: Ayling, Dance, Dasmohapatra, McDonald, Sheremeta, Sierko, Wani

Carried unanimously

### **OTHER BUSINESS**

2. Welcome new Naming Committee members and selection of Chair and Vice-Chair for the 2024-2025 term

**Motion:** Sheremeta

That the Naming Committee appoint Matthew Dance as Chair and Sara Sierko as Vice-Chair for the 2024-2025 Naming Committee term.

For the Motion: Ayling, Dance, Dasmohapatra, McDonald, Sheremeta, Sierko, Wani

Carried unanimously

3. May 22, 2024 Administration Report: Naming Policy

**Motion:** Wani

That the Naming Committee receives the update as information.

For the Motion: Ayling, Dance, Dasmohapatra, McDonald, Sheremeta, Sierko, Wani

Carried unanimously

4. Grandin (Government Centre) LRT Station renaming update

**Motion:** Sierko

That the Naming Committee receives the update as information.

For the Motion: Ayling, Dance, Dasmohapatra, McDonald, Sheremeta, Sierko, Wani

Carried unanimously

NEXT MEETING AND ADJOURNMENT

Next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Adjournment: 6:48 p.m.